Colleges and Universities Still Institutional Members of the American Studies Association (ASA) Despite Vote to Boycott Israel

Action Alert: Urge University Leaders to Withdraw ASA Membership

 

More than 80 colleges and universities are listed as Institutional Members of the American Studies Association in the September 2013 ASA Journal.¬† Following the ASA’s vote to endorse an academic boycott of Israel, five universities officially withdrew their ASA membership:

Bard College
Brandeis University
Indiana University
Kenyon College
Penn State Harrisburg
University of Texas – Dallas

Eleven colleges and universities on the ASA Institutional Members list deny that they are members of that organization:

Brown University
Carnegie-Mellon University
Hamilton College
Northwestern University
Temple University
Trinity College
Tufts University
University of Alabama
University of Mississippi
University of Southern California
Willamette University

The following colleges and universities have not withdrawn their ASA memberships or denied membership, although many of them have made statements condemning the ASA’s academic boycott of Israel.¬† Please contact one or more of the university leaders whose contact information is listed below and urge them to withdraw their university’s ASA membership.

To “Cc” all university leaders, scroll down to the bottom of the page.

* Indicates University has condemned the academic boycott of Israel

Universities and Colleges Name Title Email Phone
Boston College William P. Leahy, S.J. President william.leahy@bc.edu 617-552-3250
* Boston University Dr. Robert A. Brown President president@bu.edu, bupres@bu.edu 617-353-2200
Brigham Young University Cecil O. Samuelson President http://president.byu.edu/contact 801-422-2521
California State University, Fullerton Mildred Garcia President presidentgarcia@fullerton.edu 657-278-3456
California State University, Long Beach Donald J. Para President Donald.Para@csulb.edu 562-985-4121
* College of Staten Island, CUNY William J. Fritz Interim President william.fritz@csi.cuny.edu
* College of William and Mary Taylor Reveley President taylor@wm.edu 757-221-1693
* Cornell University David J. Skorton President president@cornell.edu 607-255-5201
CUNY Graduate Center, American Studies Certificate Program Duncan Faherty Professor Graduate Center duncan.faherty@qc.cuny.edu 718-997-4668
DePaul University Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, C.M.E. President DePaulPresidentsOffice@depaul.edu 312-362-8850
* Dickinson College Nancy A. Roseman President presofc@dickinson.edu 717-245-1323
* Emory University James W. Wagner President james.wagner@emory.edu 404-727-6013
* Fordham University Joseph M. McShane, S.J. President President@fordham.edu 718-817-3000
Franklin College of Indiana Dr. James (Jay) G. Moseley President jmoseley@franklincollege.edu 317-738-8010
* George Washington University Steven Knapp President sknapp@gwu.edu 202-994-6500
* Georgetown University John J. DeGioia President president@georgetown.edu 202-687-4134
* Harvard University Drew Gilpin Faust President president@harvard.edu 617-495-1502
Kennesaw State University Daniel S. Papp President ljohnson@kennesaw.edu 770-423-6033
* Lehigh University Alice P. Gast President pres@lehigh.edu 610-758-3157
* Michigan State University, English Department Patrick O’Donnell Chair, English Department pod@msu.edu 517-355-7576
* Middlebury College Ronald D. Liebowitz President presoff@middlebury.edu 802-443-5400
* New York University John Sexton President john.sexton@nyu.edu 212- 998-2345
* Princeton University Christopher L. Eisgruber President eisgruber@Princeton.edu 609-258-6100
* Ramapo College Peter Philip Mercer, L.L.B., Ph.D. President president@ramapo.edu 201-684-7607
* Richard Stockton College of New Jersey Herman J. Saatkamp, Jr. President h.saatkamp@stockton.edu 609-652-4521
* Rider University Mordechai Rozanski President mrozanski@rider.edu 609-896-5001
* Roger Williams University Donald J. Farish, Ph.D., J.D. President dfarish@rwu.edu 401-254-3200
Rowan College of New Jersey Ali Asghar Houshmand President presidenthoushmand@rowan.edu 856-256-4100
* Rutgers University, New Brunswick Robert Barchi President president@rutgers.edu 848-932-7454
Saint John Fisher College Dr. Donald E. Bain, Ph.D. President dbain@sjfc.edu 585-385-8010
Saint Louis University William R. Kauffman Interim President kauffman@slu.edu 314-977-2506
Saint Olaf College David Anderson President anderson@stolaf.edu 507-786-2222 x 3000
* Skidmore College Philip A. Glotzbach President pglotzba@skidmore.edu 518-580-5700
* Smith College Kathleen McCartney President kmccartney@smith.edu 413-585-2100
Sophia University Neal King, Ph.D. President President@sofia.edu 650-493-4430, ext. 229
St. Francis College Brendan J. Dugan President bdugan@sfc.edu 718-489-5416
* Stanford University, American Studies Program Shelley Fisher Fishkin Director sfishkin@stanford.edu 650-723-1804
* Stanford University, Green Library Rebecca Ione Pernell Librarian & Head, Access Services and Auxiliary Libraries pernell@stanford.edu 650-725-1277
Stetson University Wendy B. Libby, Ph.D./Joan Beasley President/Executive Assistant (contact) jlbeasle@stetson.edu 386-822-7251
* University of California, San Diego Pradeep K. Khosla Chancellor chancellor@ucsd.edu 858-534-3135
* University of Delaware Dr. Patrick T. Harker President president@udel.edu 302-831-2111
University of Hawaii David Lassner Interim President david.lassner@hawaii.edu 808-956-8207
* University of Iowa Sally Mason President sally-mason@uiowa.edu 319-335-3549
* University of Maryland, Baltimore County Freeman A. Hrabowski, III President hrabowsk@umbc.edu 410-455-3880
* University of Minnesota Eric W. Kaler President upres@umn.edu 612-626-1616
* University of New Mexico Robert G. Frank President unmpres@unm.edu 505-277-2626
* University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Thomas W. Ross President tomross@northcarolina.edu 919-962-9000
* University of Notre Dame Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C President president@nd.edu 574-631-3903
University of Oklahoma Honors College David L. Boren President actionline@ou.edu 405-325-1212
University of Southern Mississippi Rodney D. Bennett President president@usm.edu. 601-266-5001
* University of Texas, Austin William C Powers, JD President president@po.utexas.edu 512-471-1232
University of Utah David W. Pershing, Ph.D. President president@utah.edu 801-581-5701
* University of Western Ontario Amit Chakma President achakma@uwo.ca 519-661-3106
University of Wyoming Richard McGinity President mcginity@uwyo.edu 307-766-3444
* Vanderbilt University Nicholas S. Zeppos Chancellor chancellor@vanderbilt.edu 615-322-1813
* Vassar Catharine Bond Hill President presidentsoffice@vassar.edu 845-437-7200
Washington State University Elson S. Floyd President floyde@wsu.edu 509-335-4200
* Washington University, St. Louis Mark S. Wrighton, Ph.D President wrighton@wustl.edu 314-935-5100
Western Connecticut State University James W. Schmotter President schmotterj@wcsu.edu 203-837-8754
Culture Youngstown State University Dr. Randy J. Dunn President rjdunn01@ysu.edu 330-941-3101

 

Here is a full list of contact email addresses for the university leaders:
william.leahy@bc.edu , president@bu.edu, bupres@bu.edu, presidentgarcia@fullerton.edu, Donald.Para@csulb.edu, william.fritz@csi.cuny.edu, taylor@wm.edu, president@cornell.edu, duncan.faherty@qc.cuny.edu, DePaulPresidentsOffice@depaul.edu, presofc@dickinson.edu, james.wagner@emory.edu, President@fordham.edu, jmoseley@franklincollege.edu, sknapp@gwu.edu, president@georgetown.edu, president@harvard.edu, ljohnson@kennesaw.edu, pres@lehigh.edu, pod@msu.edu, presoff@middlebury.edu, john.sexton@nyu.edu, eisgruber@Princeton.EDU , president@ramapo.edu, h.saatkamp@stockton.edu, mrozanski@rider.edu, dfarish@rwu.edu, presidenthoushmand@rowan.edu, president@rutgers.edu, dbain@sjfc.edu, kauffman@slu.edu, anderson@stolaf.edu, pglotzba@skidmore.edu, kmccartney@smith.edu, President@sofia.edu, bdugan@sfc.edu, sfishkin@stanford.edu, pernell@stanford.edu, jlbeasle@stetson.edu, president@sandiego.edu, president@udel.edu, david.lassner@hawaii.edu, sally-mason@uiowa.edu, hrabowsk@umbc.edu, upres@umn.edu, unmpres@unm.edu, tomross@northcarolina.edu, president@nd.edu, actionline@ou.edu, president@usm.edu, president@po.utexas.edu, david.daniel@utdallas.edu, president@utah.edu, achakma@uwo.ca, mcginity@uwyo.edu, chancellor@vanderbilt.edu, presidentsoffice@vassar.edu, floyde@wsu.edu, wrighton@wustl.edu, schmotterj@wcsu.edu, rjdunn01@ysu.edu